Pregnancy Yummies I don’t want to Forget

I haven’t posted on here in forever! I wish I had taken pictures of some of the delicious and successful dishes I have made since I’ve gotten my energy back. I am now pregnant and I’m afraid of “pregnancy brain” fogging my ability to remember what I’ve accomplished. If I don’t forget during pregnancy, I will never remember when I’m averaging 3 or 4 hours of sleep per night!

When I first found out I was pregnant and for the majority of my first trimester I was very tired, sometimes nauseous, and a lot of foods I normally enjoyed tasted weird to me. Ah hormones!

Two weeks ago for New Years’ Eve I made dosas. All from scratch – no mixes or ready to cook batters for me!

I like to make different fillings too and avoid potatoes or limit potatoes to keep the meal more filling and less starchy. I even make my batter with half lentils, half brown rice and make my sambar more of a dal with the same flavors of sambar than a the liquidy consistency it usually is.

More recently I made some really delicious eggplant parmesan.Full disclosure – I’ve never made it before. I love breaded baked eggplant, so I started with that. I salted the eggplants lightly, let them get soft for about 15 minutes, and then floured, egg washed, and breaded the eggplant slices with Italian seasoned breadcrumbs, cornmeal, and lots of chili flakes.

I air baked them on a wire rack and then when I was ready to make it into eggplant parmesan, I laid on a little sauce, topped the slices with fresh mozzarella and fresh grated parmesan cheese. I baked those slices a little longer to melt the cheese and then topped the slices with another breaded slice so there would be a crispy layer on top. I served them with some Barilla Plus Angel Hair pasta in marinara sauce – perfecto!

Friday night my husband and I went out for Mexican food. I was having a craving and figured we would be in for something great at a hole in the wall authentic tacqueria. Boy were we wrong!

The chips and salsa were all right, but our Molcajete was loaded with meat and barely any sauce and my fajitas were kinda lack luster and came with no accompaniments. We got through very little of the fajita and molcajete because neither were what we were expecting and I guess we filled up on chips and salsa a bit anyway. We had A LOT left over. I knew I’d have to do something to doctor it up.

I made a chipotle guajillo sauce that tasted almost as good as the first molacjete we ever got that none have compared to since. I toasted 3 guajillo chillies, added 3 cloves of garlic, half an onion, 1 chipotle with adobo, and one tomato. I added water, chicken stock concentrate, cumin, oregano, and a little sazon. I let it simmer for about 2 hours. I blended the sauce, added all the left over meats to a pan, poured the sauce on top, and let it cook for another hour. The meat was no longer dry and bland. It was tender, falling apart, and delicious!

I just wanted to get it all written down if I ever need to duplicate anything! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

