Ending 2012 and Catching up

Dear baby Desai,

Sorry it’s been so long since I wrote to you. Things have been very crazy with us packing up our house, holidays, events, etc. Tonight is New Year’s Eve. Your dad is sitting on the couch watching the Chick-Fil-A Bowl, and your grandparents (my parents) are here. Grandma is on the phone with your other Grandma, and Grandpa is working (you’ll soon learn, he does that a lot). We just finished dinner a little while ago. Your mommy made her awesome dosas because she just had to have them. I hope you enjoyed them too.

To catch up, here’s what has happened recently. We saw you squirming at your 10 week ultrasound. You’ve come a long way from a squiggley looking bean. We saw arms and legs and a more definitive head and torso. Mommy’s blood pressure was a little high, so she’s being watched like a hawk. Worst case scenario, I’ll be on bed rest during my third trimester and will have to deliver early. Odds are, my dear, you will not be a July baby, even if all the T-shirts say so.

BabyD_Olive 12.13.12

We’ve had fun telling family and close friends about over the past week or two. I had a video chat with my girl friends from college where I wore a shirt saying “Bun in the Oven” and showed it to them half way through the conversation. They were shocked and happy. To tell some other close friends and family, I had custom shirts made where the front said “I’m going to be a…” and then said how they would be related to you. It was a really fun way to break the news.

Cousins_Front2_12.22.12Cousins _Back 12.22.12 Jen & Amanda 12.22.12Jen & Amanda Backs 12.22.12Grandparents1_12.22.12Payal & Sarang_12.24.12Webbs_12.24.12

We have all your big cousins here, two of mommy’s close friends Aunt Mandy and Aunt Jen, 4 out of 6 of your grandparents, you Payal Mausi and Sarang Mausa, your Nani Mausi and NanaMausa, and Shilpa Mausi. Everyone is so excited about you.

My office department found out a little differently. I was trying to break the news at a happy hour, and it didn’t get out and get around the way I was hoping. The next morning one of my co-workers pulled me into her office to ask what was up and she had a look on her face that just said “I know you’re pregnant, just fess up.” I did. I told her I had some concerns about the lunch arrangements we had for our departmental holiday lunch. She said she’d get there early and talk to them. I got to lunch and she pulled me aside and said they’d make me a separate cheese plate with all pasteurized cheeses. The plan was still to be discreet since I hadn’t gotten to tell everyone yet. The waiter came to us, introduced himself, and then 2 seconds later said, “So I hear someone here is pregnant.” I looked around real quick, raised my hand, and said “Surprise!” Everyone was very amused at how this news was broken, as was I. I brushed it off, and said he wasn’t our real waiter, I had just hired him to make the announcement. I would say it’s quite the story to share!

It’s been great having so many people know. We’re going viral with the announcement tomorrow. I put together a collage of the t-shirt photos and added a copy of your ultrasound.

I changed it today to include a picture of your ultrasound from today. You’re growing well baby. Just the right size for your gestational age. You kept trying to suck your thumb during the ultrasound. It was the most time we got to see you so far. You were not very squirmy this time. The technician had a hard time getting you to move to right angle for what she needed to check. At one point you showed us your back. Already stubborn and defiant, huh? I’m kidding!

BabyD_Peach 12.31.12

This year is ending well for us. Your daddy has also started a scrap book weekly to share with you too. I also think he’s having sympathy cravings. He’s been going on and on about Frozen Yogurt and we’re making fun of him for it right now. 🙂

Well, it’s getting late, and we probably won’t make it to midnight tonight. It’s been a long day and we have a lot to do tomorrow. We close on our new house on Thursday, so we need to get some more packing ready! It’s crazy to think in a couple of weeks we’ll be moving into our new house. It’s going to be a lot to get used to all at once, but we’re excited you’ll be joining us soon.

Love,

Mom

Leave a Reply

